Horse Racing Events in New Zealand

The racing of thoroughbred horses is a popular sport in New Zealand. The governing body is New Zealand Thoroughbred Racing Incorporated.

The principal club is the Auckland Racing Club, which races at Ellerslie Racecourse. It is at Ellerslie Racecourse where the first Totalisator machine in the world was installed in 1919.

Horses are frequently moved between New Zealand and its neighbour Australia, for races and for breeding purposes. The famous racehorse Phar Lap is claimed by both countries.

Here's a list of notable horse racing events which take place in New Zealand.

  • Auckland Cup
  • Championship Stakes
  • Desert Gold Stakes
  • Easter Handicap
  • New Zealand Free For All
  • Great Northern Derby (harness)
  • Great Northern Steeplechase
  • Hawke's Bay Guineas
  • Karaka Million
  • Kelt Capital Stakes
  • LvRC Classic
  • Manawatu Sires Produce Stakes
  • Mudgway Stakes
  • New Zealand 1000 Guineas
  • New Zealand 2000 Guineas
  • New Zealand Cup
  • New Zealand Derby
  • New Zealand Derby (harness)
  • New Zealand International Stakes
  • New Zealand Oaks
  • New Zealand St. Leger
  • North Island Challenge Stakes
  • Stoneybridge Stakes
  • Taranaki Stakes
  • Telegraph Handicap
  • Waikato Sprint
  • Wellington Cup
  1. SPORTS BETTING Are you a football, cricket, rugby, formula 1, golf or boxing fan? Get into the exciting world of sports betting! Bet on your ravorite team now!
  2. HORSE RACE BETTING Enjoy the thrill of the fastest two minutes of the Sport of Kings right in front of your very own computer! Bet on your favorite horse now!
  3. ONLINE CASINO BETTING Play all your favorite casino games like Blackjack, Craps, Roulette and many others without leaving the comforts of home! Play online casino games now!